Commerce Dashboard

Go Back

Delhi link in three of seven bullet train routes

IBEF:  January 29, 2021

The bullet train corridor would depart from Delhi to Varanasi via Agra and Ayodhya will start from Sarai Kale Khan-Nizamuddin railway station, whereas the other two corridors Amritsar and Ahmedabad will depart from Sector-21, Dwarka Metro station and Bijwasan.

Some of these proposed highways will be introduced by the railway ministry under the Public-Private Partnership (PPP), source said.

Construction has become on the Ahmedabad-Mumbai High Speed Rail (HSR) or bullet train project with 100% government support. The plan is being initiated by National High-Speed Rail Corporation Ltd. (NHSRCL) and has been assigned to prepare comprehensive project reports (DPRs) of the new seven tracks.

An National High Speed Rail Corporation Ltd (NHSRCL) official said, the HSR station alternative near Sarai Kale Khan and Nizamuddin railway station for the Delhi-Varanasi corridor was being discussed because this would provide users with strong road connectivity via Outer Ring Road, Pink Line Metro Rail connectivity, ISBT major bus interconnection and RRTS mass transit connectivity. In near proximity to Sector-21, Dwarka Metro Station and Bijwasan Railway Station, the locations were being examined for Delhi-Ahmedabad and Delhi-Amritsar HSR corridors as this will have connections to IGI Airport and Central Delhi via Airport Express Metro line and West, Central and East Delhi alongside Noida via Metro Blue Line.

Mrs. Sushma Gaur, National High-Speed Rail Corporation Ltd (NHSRCL), spokesperson, said “Indian Railways is heading towards 360-degree growth for freight transport and offering safe and secure travel with finest passenger amenities. A work in progress is implemented for HSR. By introducing the Mumbai-Ahmedabad HSR corridor and exploring alternatives for other high-speed rail corridors.”

Disclaimer: This information has been collected through secondary research and IBEF is not responsible for any errors in the same.