Trade Analytics

Bank of India

Go Back

Bank of India

  • 4,963 branches in India
  • Overseas presence in 22 foreign countries spread over 5 continents
  • First among the nationalised banks to establish a fully computerised branch and ATM

Bank of India was founded on September 7, 1906 by a group of eminent businessmen from Mumbai. The bank was under private ownership and control till July 1969 when it was nationalised along with 13 other banks.

The bank has made a rapid growth over the years and has become one of the largest public sector banks with a strong national presence and sizable international operations. In business volume, the bank occupies a premier position among the nationalised banks.

The bank has 4,963 branches in India spread over all states/ union territories including specialized branches. These branches are controlled through 54 zonal offices. There are 60 branches/offices and 5 subsidiaries and 1 joint venture abroad.


Bank of India: Relationship beyond banking


Signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with India Army pertaining to the defence salary package


Established a wholly owned subsidiary in Botswana


Established a wholly owned subsidiary in Uganda


Established a wholly owned subsidiary in Auckland, New Zealand


Acquired 76 per cent of Indonesia-based PT Bank Swadesi


Opened a representative office in Vietnam


The Bank came out with its maiden public issue


Updated: December, 2014

Total credit extended in India reached US$ 1.3 trillion as of Q1 FY19.