Indian Economy News

Extension of e-Tourist Visa scheme to 31 more countries

News Delhi: Government of India has launched e-Tourist Visa (old Name: Tourist Visa on arrival enabled by Electronic Travel Authorisation) on November 27, 2014 to 45 countries from nine designated Indian Airports.

This facility is being extended to 31 more countries from May 01, 2015. The new countries included in e-Tourist Visa scheme are Anguilla, Antigua & Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bolivia, Canada, Cayman Island, Chile, Costa Rica, Dominica, Dominic an Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Estonia, France, Georgia, Grenada, Haiti, HolySee (Vatican), Honduras, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Macedonia, Montenegro, Montserrat, Nicaragua, Paraguay, St.Kitts & Nevis and Seychelles.

With the above addition, the total number of countries under the scheme will go upto 76. The scheme will be extended to more countries in a phased manner. The Government is committed to extend the scheme to 150 countries by the end of this financial year.

Disclaimer: This information has been collected through secondary research and IBEF is not responsible for any errors in the same.