Commerce Dashboard


Go Back


  • Built GSAT-10, the heaviest Indian satellite
  • 32 communication satellites
  • 11 earth observation satellites

Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) was established in the year 1969. The Government of India constituted the Space Commission and established the Department of Space (DOS) in June 1972 and brought ISRO under DOS in September 1972.  The Space Commission formulates the policies and oversees the implementation of the Indian space programme to promote the development and application of space science and technology for the socio-economic benefit of the country. DOS implements these programmes through, mainly, ISRO, Physical Research Laboratory (PRL), National Atmospheric Research Laboratory (NARL), North Eastern-Space Applications Centre (NE-SAC) and Semi-Conductor Laboratory (SCL).

The DOS Secretariat and ISRO Headquarters are located at Antariksh Bhavan in Bengaluru. Programme offices at ISRO Headquarters coordinate programmes such as satellite communication, earth observation, launch vehicle, space science, disaster management support, sponsored research scheme, contracts management, international cooperation, system reliability and quality, safety, publications and public relations, budget and economic analysis, and human resources development.


ISRO: In the Service of Humankind


Successfully launches Astrosat and six other satellites


Successfully launches GSLV Mark-III


Successfully launched Mangalyaan thus becoming the only country to reach Mars in first attempt.


Launches India’s heaviest communication satellite, GSAT-10 by Ariane-5 VA 209 from Kourou, French Guiana


ANTRIX, ISRO bags Globe Sustainability Research Awards


Launches first operational Indian remote sensing satellite, IRS-1A


Becomes a government organisation


Science and R&D
At rank 48, India stands among the top 50 countries in the Global Innovation Index 2020.