Commerce Dashboard


Go Back


  • Built GSAT-10, the heaviest Indian satellite
  • 9 communication satellites
  • 1 meteorological satellite
  • 10 earth observation satellites
  • 1 scientific satellite

Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) was established in the year 1969. In 1972, it came under the newly established Department of Space (DOS).

The DOS formulates the policies and oversees the implementation of the Indian space programme to promote the development and application of space science and technology for the socio-economic benefit of the country. DOS implements these programmes through, mainly, ISRO, Physical Research Laboratory (PRL), National Atmospheric Research Laboratory (NARL), North Eastern-Space Applications Centre (NE-SAC) and Semi-Conductor Laboratory (SCL).

The DOS Secretariat and ISRO Headquarters are located at Antariksh Bhavan in Bengaluru. Programme offices at ISRO Headquarters coordinate programmes such as satellite communication, earth observation, launch vehicle, space science, disaster management support, sponsored research scheme, contracts management, international cooperation, system reliability and quality, safety, publications and public relations, budget and economic analysis, and human resources development.


ISRO: In the Service of Humankind

2013 Inaugurates ISRO Navigation Centre (INC), an independent navigation satellite system being developed by India
2012 Launches India’s heaviest communication satellite, GSAT-10 by Ariane-5 VA 209 from Kourou, French Guiana
2010 ANTRIX, ISRO bags Globe Sustainability Research Awards
1988 Launches first operational Indian remote sensing satellite, IRS-1A
1975 Becomes a government organisation
Research and Development
India is presently ranked 76th among a total of 143 economies, as per the Global Innovation Index (GII).