Indian Economy News

India has signed Bilateral Air Service Agreement with 116 countries

Any designated foreign airline may fly to/from India if it is designated as a point of call under the bilateral Air Services Agreement (ASA) signed between India and the nation that selected the airline. India has signed ASAs with 116 foreign nations. Under the terms of bilateral ASAs signed by India with foreign nations, Indian designated carriers are free to operate scheduled flights to/from any international airport, including Kannur International Airport. Currently, the Government of India is not awarding any non-metro airport as a new point of call to any foreign airline for the purpose of running passenger services due to a major imbalance in the number of points of call in favour of foreign carriers. Major countries in the ASA include UAE, UK, USA, China, Brazil, Israel, Russia and France.

Disclaimer: This information has been collected through secondary research and IBEF is not responsible for any errors in the same.