Commerce Dashboard

Bangalore Metro Rail Corporation Ltd

Go Back

Bangalore Metro Rail Corporation Ltd

  • First Metro rail project in India commissioned with 750V DC Third Rail on Standard Gauge
  • Has a total of 40 stations - 33 elevated and seven underground
  • Trains reach a maximum speed of 80 kmph and an average speed of 34 kmph

Bangalore Metro Rail Corporation Ltd (BMRCL) is a joint venture (JV) of the Government of India and the Government of Karnataka, and is a special purpose vehicle (SPV) entrusted with the responsibility of implementation of the Bangalore Metro Rail Project.

Bangalore Metro was later christened as 'Namma Metro'. The project has two corridors. The East-West corridor, which is 18.1 kilometres (km) long, starts from Baiyappanahalli in the East and terminates at Mysore Road terminal in the West. The North-South corridor, which is 24.2 km long, commences at Nagasandra in the North and terminates at Puttenahalli in the South.

The commercial operations on Reach-1 (MG Road to Baiyappanahalli station) opened on October 20, 2011 and the commercial operations on Reach-3, 3A (Peenya Industry to Mantri Square Sampige Road Station) commenced on March 1, 2014.



Bangalore Metro Rail Corporation Ltd: Bengaluru City's very own Metro Project


Signs agreement with French development agency AFD for phase 2 of metro


Starts commercial operations on Reach-3, 3A


Starts commercial operations on Reach-1


Starts construction on Reach-1 of the line


Lays foundation stone for Phase I construction


Indian Railways plans to run on 100 per cent electricity by 2024 and become a net-zero emission network by 2030.